Resorting to mediocrity

I remember the saying taught in school, ‘Be happy with what you have’. Come to think of it, that philosophy is bullshit. Allow me to explain the unobserved side of this philosophy. When we are happy with what we have, that makes us complacent. The cushion of a decent life makes us continue the humdrum disallowing us to even think of attempting anything noteworthy. The comfort of routine makes us temporally happy, makes us stale, makes us mediocre.

I lack inspiration and a lot of it. I personally believe (I might be wrong. That’s why I used the word ‘personally’. It’s an opinion not a fact. Why am I even bothering to explain?) That till the truest realization of change comes from within, there can be nothing constructive. There is difference between moving forward and moving forward in the right direction. I was a 78 kg blob of fat and I was careless about that state of mine. Throughout school, I was that fat complacent kid who despite the constant humiliation and mockery was OKAY with how he was. That sucked. It took me 22 years to realize that I need to change and when the desire to change came from within, I could achieve the unimaginable. I am way behind my actual goal but I’ll get there soon because there is a desire to change from within which won’t stop me ever (DIET, FUCK YOU!).

When we are satisfied with what we have, we lack the fire to achieve more. I am not saying don’t be content and keep sulking. I am saying be okay with what you have but use that untapped bubbling potential energy and make it useful. I so wish to act on this great philosophy but somehow I lack the passion. Truth be told, I dream too much. I dream of a lifestyle where I won’t have to check the right hand side of a menu card, I can light my cigar with a $100 bill, I’ll have a fleet of cars because I sometime loathe taking the bus/train and so on and so forth. I also feel I should be rich enough to tell people that money doesn’t matter. At this stage and with this current attitude of mine, I am never going to achieve it, realistically speaking! I don’t think I am the only one to echo this. All of us who have adjusted ourselves to the mould of mediocrity will NEVER be able to achieve anything in life because comfort is what spoils us all. We are way more capable than we can think of. We can be way more successful than what we are. We can do the unthinkable.

How many are really happy with their jobs? If you see 9 on 10 hands in the air, 8 of them probably are okay with the money being offered and must be like, “Chal raha hai yaar theek thaak set hai“. This cushion of complacency makes us recline more and more on the red lounge of mediocrity. We also feel graduation or post graduation is the key to a successful life. How stupid are we! In fact the lifestyle that one achieves through degrees makes one the laziest, the most complacent. We are tricked into believing that a fancy post grad from a reputed institute will guarantee a smooth road ahead. Well, true to an extent because most fat pay cheques are covered with drool and dumbfounded amazement followed by fancy meals and exotic vacations. But there comes a point where we realize that we are not benefiting anyone, doing anything noteworthy and the routine is just irritating and we need to switch to something better in life. If that has arrived in your life, you have cleared the first step – Realization. The next step is acting on it which is horrendously difficult. The last step is flaunting your success for which we have social media and that stage is the coolest and the most comforting of all.

I am not sure when I’ll prove them wrong, when I will keep manage to keep myself away from distractions and when I’ll be the guy I want to become. It might take months, a year or maybe a fucking decade but somewhere there, I know I am gonna light that cigar with a $100 bill one day.

PS – This was lying in my drafts since I don’t know how long. I did not have the drive to even tweak it if needed and hit ‘Publish’. I realized, acted on it by hitting publish and now it is flaunted on SM. Mission accomplished. Cheers!

Leave a comment